I have been in various places.

One place I have gone is a large church in Pasadena, California, called Lake Avenue Congregational Church. My first impression of it was its size. It looked like a renovated theater building, but I surmised from what I heard was that it was built to be a church. There was an underground parking lot for disabled people, and an above ground parking lot for everybody else. The only underground parking lot I had seen which was that large was in Las Vegas, the Boardwalk Hotel. Then we went inside the nave of the church, and it was indeed like a theater. The aisles went downhill, and there was a balcony in the back. It seated 2,000 people, and there were three services.

During the service, the song lyrics and other information were posted on a large screen, and the choir stood in front off to the side. There was a small orchestra and a chime choir on the other side, and the pastor spoke from the middle. Everything was very impressive.

The pastor said he was from Chicago, and I felt instantly at home, for I grew up in Milwaukee. He also shared that he felt more at home in California because it was not so cold and icy. The entire experience was very positive.

I like going to different churches, and seeing how different people worship. But it is always good to come to my home church and be able to worship with my friends.

This morning my husband and I went to a meeting at a restaurant here in the town where we live. It was very good, because we were in small groups and shared our inner selves with each other. I like to do that. It’s cleansing somehow. The oldest of us shared things that God told her through the Holy Spirit that made us all feel closer to God.

These are two of the places where we have been lately.

About claudiabarlow

I am a writer, and a blogger, and I teach creative writing at my library. I also teach on line, and I have had international students take my class.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

