I never thought I’d ever be at this point in my life.

This is the best way I can describe my circumstances at this point. I am doing what I can to better my life and the lives of those with whom I am affiliated. I have made my own life at least tolerable; my bills are paid and my needs are met. I don’t want for anything. Most people who are my age don’t really want for anything either. But I have younger friends who are not at the stage that I am, and some of them really have coping issues. So I help them feel better about themselves and their surroundings.

I just injured my foot, and it has not healed yet. I am supposed to stay off of it. Fat Chance. I have no car, and so I have to walk everywhere. I do take buses, but being that this is a small town, they don’t run tremendously often. So I walk to the grocery store, to the bank, and to the gym to work out. When I go the gym, I cannot use the treadmill, and so I have to do every other thing to avoid using my foot. Sometimes I use my walker to get around, and sometimes just my cane. Sometimes I can’t wait to get home to get off my foot.

Hey, don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining. I have been homeless in my car, when I had one, I have had men divorce me because I couldn’t support them continuously in the lap of luxury. I have been married to some very sick ones, too. So at this point in my life, I am happily married to a man whom I never expected to marry; I am semi retired; my kids are grown up and have their own teenagers (now they know what Mom went through); and I live in a house that is paid for, and that is one bill that I don’t have. So do you think I am doing well for being almost 70?

About claudiabarlow

I am a writer, and a blogger, and I teach creative writing at my library. I also teach on line, and I have had international students take my class.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I never thought I’d ever be at this point in my life.

  1. rebecca2000 says:

    It seems you have you have a strong heart and spirit. Good for you for moving forward and seeing what is and not what isn’t.

    x,
    Becca

    Like

  2. Candy S says:

    you are going VERY well!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

