Do you know that I am still learning?

Oh, boy! I haven’t had so much fun since I was teaching at a juvenile hall, and some kid cussed at me and a security guard took him out of the classroom. It’s easier to work in a prison setting than in a regular school, because there are actually discipline procedures going on, where in a regular school all you have are the children of rich parents not wanting to work or learn anything. Now, I have two students who are learning to write creatively, and one works at home, and sends me her assignments, and the other one is learning that history he never learned in high school, because his mom stuck him in a special ed class, where all they do is play video games. This whole educational system is a learning experience for the teacher.

About claudiabarlow

I am a writer, and a blogger, and I teach creative writing at my library. I also teach on line, and I have had international students take my class.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do you know that I am still learning?

  1. So true, teachers are lifelong learners.

    Like

    • It took me this long to really develop my skills. You can’t teach effectively if you are just simply working for the colleges and school districts. You have to give students what they need, and the schools don’t want to do that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

